Golf is unique from other sports because players learn values like honesty and responsibility by calling penalties on themselves and reporting their own score. The sport is a perfect platform for helping young people develop character because just like in life, players experience the highs and lows of the game.


The First Tee of Coastal Carolinas offers programs and instruction which focus on developing life skills and golf skills through games and activities.

We currently offer classes at seven area locations around The Grand Strand:

Willbrook Plantation (PLAYer & Par)

Wachesaw Plantation (PLAYer, Par, & Birdie)

Cane Patch Driving Range (PLAYer & Par)

Legends Resort (PLAYer & Par)

Hackler Course @ CCU (PLAYer)

Crown Park (PLAYer Level)

Eagle Nest (PLAYer & Par Level)


The First Tee has established Nine Core Values that represent some of the many inherently positive values connected with the game of golf. These Nine Core Values have been incorporated into The First Tee Experience and have been used to name golf holes at several of The First Tee facilities.


Each level consists of six life skills modules and every module contains a core lesson that all participants must be exposed to. The core lessons are suitable for delivery to any age group. In addition, each module includes optional activities. Some give participants additional practice in the core life skills, some are designed for participants 12 and older, and others deal with the application of life skills to non-golf situations at home or school.

In order to pass the certification test and move to the next program level, all students must be exposed to the concepts in the core lessons. Their understanding of these concepts is enhanced through role-playing, golf-related activities, and workbook exercises.

As part of The First Tee Certification Process, participants must demonstrate that they understand and can apply the core life skills by answering written questions and performing skills for an instructor. When they meet certification requirements, they progress to the next level.

NOTE: Although there is no timeline associated with each level, it is important to understand the diversity of talent of each child. Comprehension and observed implementation of The Life Skills Experience and specific golf skill proficiency is required before any junior can progress to the next certification level.


PLAYer Level

PLAYer is the introductory level of The First Tee Life Skills Experience for children ages 7-17 years old.  All participants (regardless of age or previous ability) will enter The First Tee Golf and Life Skills Experience at the PLAYer level.  PLAYer teaches participants how to play the game of golf with special emphasis on learning golf, The First Tee Code of Conduct, and The First Tee Nine Core Values™.  These interpersonal and self-management skills will help out participants develop much more than their golf games.

Par Level

The Par Level builds on the PLAYer level by introducing PLAYers to life skills that will help them both on and off the golf course.  The main focus of the Par level is to assist PLAYers in acquiring several self-management techniques and interpersonal skills that will help them in managing their thoughts, emotions, and behaviors in order to perform at their best both on and off the golf course.

Birdie Level

Of all of the life skills addressed in The First Tee Life Skills Experience, goal-setting is one of the most important.  The Birdie level affords PLAYers the opportunity to learn how to set and pursue their own goals.  This will provide PLAYers with a greater sense of purpose, direction, and motivation in their lives.

Eagle Level

The Eagle Level is designed for PLAYers who have demonstrated a commitment to both the game of golf and to attaining the associated set of Golf and Life Skills.  An Eagle Level participant will learn about wellness, diversity, building go-to teams, and conflict management.

Ace Level

The Ace Level offers advanced instruction and practice in many of the Golf and Life Skills introduced in the PLAYer, Par, Birdie, and Eagle levels.  Ace focuses on personal planning and reinforces interpersonal communication, self-management, goal-setting, self-coaching, and resilience skills that were applied in the earlier levels on The first Tee Like Skills Experience.


To progress from one certification level to the next, PLAYers must complete a variety of Golf and Life Skills evaluations.

PLAYer Level:  Written Golf/Life Skills test, Putting and Playing Requirements

Par Level:  Written Golf Skills Test, Written Life Skills Test, Putting, Short game, Approach, Fairways, and Playing Requirement

Birdie Level:  Written Golf Skills Test, Written Life Skills Test, Putting, Short game, Approach, Fairways, and Playing Requirement

Eagle Level:  Written Golf Skills Test, Written Life Skills Test, Putting, Short game, Approach, Fairways, and Playing Requirement

Each level’s requirements get more difficult as they program is meant to grow and expand with the child’s development.

There are also age minimums that must be met to move up on to each level:

PLAYer:  7 years old* to enter
Par:  9 years old* to enter
Birdie:  11 years old* to enter
Eagle:  13 years old* to enter
Ace:  14 years old* to enter

*  Age during the registered programming cycle.